top of page

I Am Finally Resurrecting The Dragon!

Okay, let me tell you what I mean.

Over the past two years, I have been writing the Rise of the Silver Dragon series and I am finally writing book two of the series. A lot of you will already know that it will be the second and last book in the series. I was going to make it three, but then realised that I would be spreading my story out too much and filling in the cracks with pointless side-story. Not that I don't like a bit of side-story, but I have already implemented enough of it in both books that I would just be rambling if I added more.

During this time, I have also been suffering from depression and anxiety. For those who know what it feels like, it ain't pretty, is it? That, combined with the medication made me forget my priorities. I am a writer and yet I wasn't writing. I didn't feel like it at all. The only thing I wanted to do was lie in bed and wait for the day to be over and hope that tomorrow would be a new beginning.

There was also a good portion of nostalgia. Back in 2009, I started writing short stories for the website Bibliofaction. I loved it and I would stay up all night trying to perfect them. Those were the days. It wasn't until 2013 that I began my journey into the world of self-publishing and found out how hard it was. It is always hard for independent publishers. Oh sure we get to keep all the money, but it is the professionally published authors that get the audience. I knew I was playing a dangerous game but I wanted to be a part of it to finally become a published author. I started to miss the days when it was only a fun little hobby. Publishing short stories online for other novice writers to read eliminated any kind of pressure from the art.

As well as that, there is also a part of my life that pre-dates 2009. I think I had more of a life back then. I do miss it ... I think. I still have the same friends, but things just aren't the same. Then again, that is because we aren't teenagers any more. No, we all have jobs, families and more grown-up activities to be getting onwards. I wish them all the luck in the world with that. Well, I might save a bit of that luck for myself.

Now that I have stopped weeping, I can tell you that as of the beginning of the week, I have finally put fingers to keys and made a start on book two of Rise of the Silver Dragon. I won't write a synopsis of it here (and you won't see one for a while) as it is still in bare bone format and I may want to redo large chunks of the story.

What started in 2014 is now ending in 2016. I do regret not focusing on this more, but as of now I am back in full author mode and I will make sure that it lasts this time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page